My second film, dual-titled Niitsitapi (The People) and Le Canada c'est mon pays, le Québec c'est ma patrie (Canada is my country, Quebec is my home), was released in 2011 as part of a much larger film and media project (with many fathers and mothers), filmed in the cold, cold early summer of 2010.
It is a social message in three acts, mainly focusing on music, creativity, the natural beauty of Canada, indigenous affairs and rights, and climate change.
The film was nominated by the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television for Best Social/Political Documentary Program and Best Short Documentary. It was also nominated for the Governor General's Award in Visual and Media Arts, Prix du Gouverneur général : théâtre de langue anglaise, et Prix du Gouverneur général : poésie de langue française.
Those of us involved just call it 'The Project'. My absolute favourite cover of Gene Porter's "Don't Fence Me In" was recorded live, late at night, on a grassy hillside under the stars in rural Alberta, in one take. I was incredibly lucky to have so many talented musicians and artists willing to take part.
Brian-Michel LaRue
Jacob Tierney
Alexandre Trudeau
Kevin Tierney
Alexandre Trudeau
Brian-Michel LaRue
Jacob Tierney
Brian-Michel LaRue
Jim Guthrie (Islands, Royal City, Human Highway)
Sarah Harmer (The Saddletramps, Weeping Tile, Great Lake Swimmers, the Weakerthans, Neko Case)
Bry Webb (Constantines, Ohbijou)
Laura Barrett (Solo Artist)
Mark Hamilton (Woodpigeon)
Rollie Pemberton (Cadence Weapon)
Tanya Tagaq, CM (Solo Artist - Inuk throat singer)
Christine Fellows (Solo Artist, Propagandhi)
John K. Samson (Propaghandi)
Sophie Trudeau (Godspeed You! Black Emperor)
Kathleen Edwards (Solo Artist)
Matt Mays (Matt Mays & El Torpedo; The Guthries)
Sam Roberts (Solo Artist, Sam Roberts Band)
Melissa Auf der Maur (Tinker, Hole, The Smashing Pumpkins, Team Sleep, Indochine, Ryan Adams, Rufus Wainwright)
Jamie Fleming (catl)
Sam Shalabi (Shalabi Effect, Godspeed You! Black Emperor)
Jennifer Castle (Castlemusic, Constantines, Fucked Up)
Sébastien Grainger (Death From Above 1979)
Shad (Rapper, Former Host of 'Q on CBC')
Jace Lasek (The Besnard Lakes)
Olga Goreas (The Besnard Lakes)
Additional Synth/Programming/Ambient: Ghislain Poirier
Post Audio Facilities: Giant Studios (Toronto), La Caverne (near Montréal)
Re-recording Mix: James Shaw, Sébastien Grainger, Ghislain Poirier, Brian-Michel LaRue
Sound Edit: James Shaw, Ghislain Poirier, Brian-Michel LaRue
Grant Lawrence
Torquil Campbell
Murray Lightburn
Natalia Yanchak
Leslie Feist
Emily Haines
Elizabeth Powell
Amy Millan
Annie-Claude Deschênes
King Khan & BBQ Show
Radio Radio
Misteur Valaire
Fanny Bloom
Neko Case
Joel Plaskett
CBC/Radio-Canada (Toronto)
Maison Radio-Canada (Montreal)
National Film Board of Canada/Office national du film du Canada
Air Canada
Department of Canadian Heritage
Telefilm Canada / Téléfilm Canada
Société de développement des entreprises culturelles (SODEC)
Back to Top